Sainsbury’s Frozen Summer Fruits

While trying to sort out dinner, something that I always seems to be doing, I stubbled across Sainsbury’s Frozen Summer Fruits on special offer. I’ve dyed with blackberries before and I wondered what colour summer fruits (a mix of raspberries, blackberries, blackcurrants & redcurrants) would yield.

Preparing the natural dye pot for the berries is similar to using other natural ingredients (outlined in the previous post – eco printing with natural dyes).

  1. With the fresh berries I usually crush them, but with the frozen ones I just add them to the pot.
  2. Pour in water until the ingredients are completely submerged, and then add the same amount of water again.
  3. Gently bring to the boil, and then turn down to a simmer for a minimum of an hour. I used a masher to crush the berries as they melted in the pot
  4. Some people prefer to strain the berries from the dye pot before using the dye. Doing this will give you a more even colour. We prefer to leave everything in the pot.
  5. With berries I add salt ( cup in a 24cm pot)

I always do a set of control samples for colour reference (a selection of different animal and plant fibres) here I’ve used cotton muslin, habotai silk and linen.

For the scarf I decided to use rose (the green colour) and eucalyptus leaves (the red colour) to create the eco-print.

Using a simple shibori technique, folding and then rolling to create the bundle, I used paper string, ecru cotton perle and rayon yarn (previously used for rusting, giving the black lines on the final scarf) to secure the bundle.

Once again soak your bundle in water for roughly 30mins before submerging in the natural dye pot.

I let the bundle simmer for about 3 hours before rinsing in cold water and unravelling your bundle.

At 40p for a 100g forget that smoothie and twist your favourite ingredients into a gorgeous eco-dyed scarf!

For a larger selection of images click here.

Leave a Reply

